09 July 2010

Z4 Wines Award for Restaurant Reviewing

Following the success of the Z4 Wines award for Book Reviewing, which is now in its third year, ACT Writers Centre sponsor Z4 Wines (www.z4.com.au) is pleased to be sponsoring another award to recognise the work of reviewers in the Canberra region, the Z4 Wines Award for Restaurant Reviewing.

The award is open to entries of no more than 1500 words that have been published in the previous calendar year (2009). While the reviewed café or restaurant can be anywhere in the world, the writer must have resided in the ACT region (which covers the shires of Young, Harden, Gundagai, Tumut, Boorowa, Yass Valley, Upper Lachlan, Goulburn Mulwaree, Wingecarribee, Palerang, Greater Queanbeyan, Shoalhaven, Eurobodalla, Bega Valley, Bombala, Cooma-Monaro and Snowy River) at the time of publication.

There is no entry fee, and entrants do not need to be members of the ACT Writers Centre, but there is a maximum of 2 entries allowed per person. There will be one winner, announced during the ACT Writers Centre Christmas Party in December, and the prize will be $200 worth of wine from Z4 Wines.

The closing date will be Friday 10 September and entries must be received or postmarked by this date. Judges to be announced (one local and one interstate)

To enter, please send a copy of the review showing the name and date of the publication, together with your name and contact details, to:

Z4 Wines Award for Restaurant Reviewing, ACT Writers Centre, Gorman House Arts Centre, Ainslie Avenue, Braddon ACT 2612.

The annual ACT Writers Centre awards also include:

· The ACT Writing and Publishing Awards (sponsored by Blue Star Print Group and Paperchain Bookstore) for published fiction, nonfiction, poetry and children’s books.

· The Z4 Wines Award for Book Reviewing (sponsored by Z4 Wines)

· The Michael Thwaites Poetry Award

· The Marjorie Graber-McInnis Short Story Award

For more information on these awards, please visit ww.actwriters.org.au/ACTawards2010.html

If you would like any more information about the ACT Writers Centre Awards, please contact the ACT Writers Centre on (02) 6262 9191 or at admin@actwriters.org.au