24 October 2010

The Lake Woman

Alan Gould, The Lake Woman : a romance, Arcadia 2009.

Shortlisted for the 2010 ACT Book of the Year*.

An Australian soldier in British service parachutes into the roaring embattled skies of the night before DDay, and lands in a vast lake of flooded fields. His encounter with a mysterious woman who seems to rule that water world deflects him from the war and from all the promise his life had seemed to hold.

Alan Gould was born in London in 1949 of English-Icelandic parents, and lived on armed forces camps in England, Northern Ireland, Germany and Singapore before corning to Australia in 1966. He has an arts degree from The Australian National University, a Diploma Of Education From The Canberra College Of Advanced Education, (now CU ) and has held various short-term employments, including nuclear physics technician, builder's and agricultural labouring.

Since 1973 he has written poetry and fiction as full-time as resources have allowed, augmenting his income with literary journalism and relief teaching.

Alan Gould has published 20 books, seven fiction titles, twelve poetry titles, and one collection of essays. Between 2002-6 he served as a member of The Literature Board of The Australia Council.

Alan Gould’s literary awards include NSW Premier’s Prize for Poetry 1981 (for Astral Sea), Angus And Robertson Fellowship 1983 and Foundation For Australian Literary Studies Best Book Of The Year, 1985 (for The Man Who Stayed Below), National Book Council Banjo Award for Fiction 1992 (for To The Burning City), TDK Audio Book Of The Year 1998 (for The Tazyrik Year), The Philip Hodgins Memorial Award 1999, Co-winner Courier Mail Book Of The Year 2000, and co-winner ACT Book Of The Year 2000 (for The Schoonermaster’s Dance), The Grace Leven Award 2006 (for The Past Completes Me – Selected Poems 1973-2003), shortlisting for The Prime Minister’s Fiction Award 2010 (for The Lake Woman).

Alan's website is alangouldwriter.com

Request to borrow this book .

Find more books by this author in the ACT Public Libraries.

What else was shortlisted for the 2010 ACT Book of the Year?

Find more information on previous ACT Books of the Year.

*The ACT Book of the Year recognises quality contemporary Australian literary works including fiction, non-fiction and poetry. To be eligible for the ACT Book of the Year the author must either reside in the ACT or strongly demonstrate an ACT literary practice, and the book must have been published in the calendar year preceding the year of nomination.

The ACT Government, through the ACT Arts Fund administered by artsACT, has offered an ACT Book of the Year award since 1993. The 2010 winner will be announced in November from the shortlist selected by a panel comprising Ms Mauren Bettle (ACT Cultural Council), Ms Kathryn Favelle and Mr Anthony Eaton.