14 November 2010

The Blue Plateau

Mark Tredinnick, The Blue Plateau : a landscape memoir, University of Queensland Press, 2009.

Shortlisted for the 2010 ACT Book of the Year*.

The Blue Plateau is a lyrical natural history of the Blue Mountains, and memoir of one man's attempt to belong there.

An inspired meditation on the contours of the land and its people, of time and place and family, the rhythms of nature and the rhythms of friendship, It is a book of many belongings. Here you will meet the plateau's first people; you will meet Les and Henryk and Jim; you will walk the Kedumba and the Kanimbla in drought and fire and blood.

Evocative and deeply moving, The Blue Plateau is a poet's story of an astonishing place and a loving portrait of home.

Mark Tredinnick wrote the best-selling writing guides The Little Red Writing Book (2006) and The Little Green Grammar Book (2008). His other books include A Place on Earth (2003) and The Land's Wild Music (2005). His awards include the Newcastle Poetry Prize, the Blake Poetry Prize and the Calibre Essay Prize.

His work has appeared in Australian Book Review, Best Australian Essays, Island, Southerly, The Australian, The Bulletin, The Sydney Morning Herald, and other newspapers, journals and anthologies in Australia, the UK and the US.

Mark's website is marktredinnick.com.au.

Request to borrow this book.

Find more books by this author in the ACT Public Libraries.

What else was shortlisted for the 2010 ACT Book of the Year?

Find more information on previous ACT Books of the Year.

*The ACT Book of the Year recognises quality contemporary Australian literary works including fiction, non-fiction and poetry. To be eligible for the ACT Book of the Year the author must either reside in the ACT or strongly demonstrate an ACT literary practice, and the book must have been published in the calendar year preceding the year of nomination.

The ACT Government, through the ACT Arts Fund administered by artsACT, has offered an ACT Book of the Year award since 1993. The 2010 winner will be announced in November from the shortlist selected by a panel comprising Ms Mauren Bettle (ACT Cultural Council), Ms Kathryn Favelle and Mr Anthony Eaton.