12 November 2010

Vanishing Point

Felicity Plunkett. Vanishing Point. University of Queensland Press, 2009.

Shortlisted for the 2010 Judith Wright Poetry Prize*.

Opening with a surreal vision of creativity and mourning, Vanishing Point returns to flakes of desire, memory and dreams. This dynamic collection traces currents of eroticism and the imagination, charting the skeleton of feeling and the blood of beginnings.

Felicity Plunkett was born in Sydney. She has a PhD from the University of Sydney and has taught literature several universities. She is an Honorary Research Consultant at the University of Queensland, where she teaches poetics and literature. She is also a widely-published reviewer. She twice has won the Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Prizes, for 'young poets of unusual promise'.

Request to borrow this book.

What else was shortlisted for the 2010 Judith Wright Award?

Find more information on previous ACT Poetry Prizes.

*Judith Wright Prize for a published collection by an Australian writer is awarded annually. It is one of five ACT Poetry Prizes.

The ACT Government, through the ACT Arts Fund administered by artsACT, has offered ACT Poetry Prizes since 2003. The 2010 winner will be announced in November from the shortlist selected by a panel comprising comprising Ms Maureen Bettle, Mr John Jenkins, Ms Lesley Lebkowicz and Mr David Brooks.