06 December 2010

Judith Wright Poetry Award Announced

The ACT Public Libary congratulates Peter Boyle on winning the 2010 Judith Wright Poetry Award for Apocrypha: Texts Collected and Translated by William O'Shaunessy published by Vagabond Press, 2009.

The Judith Wright Award for a published collection by an Australian writer is awarded annually. It is one of five ACT Poetry Prizes announced by Chief Minister, Mr. Jon Stanhope.

In Apocrypha, Peter Boyle retrieves the luminous classical landscape that is the birthplace of Western civilisation and the Western psyche. Setting out to find the discarded or forbidden parts of this landscape, his search brings to light a forgotten but distinctly classical undercurrent of animism, of a piece, in its intellectual lucidity and precision, with classical science and philosophy. In the retrieved fragments of William O’Shaunessy’s “translations”, the outer world of poplars, ibis, windmills, commerce and political vagary interflows seamlessly with inner worlds of sorrow, anguish, love and loss to create a sparkling wholeness of meaning and matter that seems utterly lost to the West today. In a way that perhaps only a poet can, however, Boyle shows that this wholeness can be now, as it always was, our own. - Freya Mathews.

Peter Boyle is an Australian poet living in Sydney. His first three collections of poetry Coming home from the world (1994), The Blue Cloud of Crying (1997), and What the painter saw in our faces (2001) have received several awards including the New South Wales Premier’s Award, the South Australian Festival award and the National Book Council Award. His collection of poetry, Museum of Space, published in 2004 by University of Queensland Press, was shortlisted for the Queensland Premier’s Award. In 2004 he was shortlisted for the NSW Premier’s Award for translation.

Request to borrow this book.

Find more books by this author in the ACT Public Libraries.

What else was shortlisted for the 2010 Judith Wright Award?

Find more information on previous ACT Poetry Prizes.