20 May 2011

The 2011 shortlist: Children’s Book of the Year Award!

The shortlisted titles for 2011 have been announced by the Children’s Book Council of Australia. Readers have just three month to speculate and choose personal favourites. At 12.00 noon on 19 August the judges will announce the official winners.

Ten titles have been shortlisted in each of the following categories: 
  • Older readers (for mature readers)
  • Younger readers (for independent younger readers)
  • Early childhood (for pre-readers to early readers)
  • Picture book (for ages 0-18, covering a variety of maturity levels)
  • Information books (Eve Pownall Award) 

The shortlist for the COOL Awards will be announced soon – how will children’s own choices compare with the Book of the Year contestants?