09 June 2011

The shortlist: 2011 Prime Minister's Literary Awards

The Prime Minister's Literary Awards are now in their fourth year of operation and growing every year. Entries are accepted in four categories:
  • Fiction
  • Non-fiction
  • Young adult fiction
  • Children's fiction
This year, 379 entries have been received and the judging panels have had the difficult task of reducing this number to five shortlisted titles in each category. Being shortlisted is quite significant, as all shortlisted candidates will receive a tax-free prize of $5,000. For the winner in each category, recognition amounts to a tax-free prize of $80,000.

To be eligible for entry in the 2011 Awards, a book must have been first published in 2010, in English. The author must be a citizen or permanent resident of Australia, and self-published works are not accepted.

Titles shortlisted this year:

  • Glissando by David Musgrave 
  • Notorious by Roberta Lowing
  • That deadman dance by Kim Scott
  • Traitor by Stephen Daisley
  • When colts ran by Roger McDonald
  • How to make gravy by Paul Kelly
  • Sydney by Delia Falconer
  • The hard light of day by Rod Moss
  • The party by Richard McGregor
  • Claude Levi-Strauss by Patrick Wilcken
Young adult fiction
  • About a girl by Joanne Horniman
  • Good oil by Laura Buzo
  • Graffiti moon by Cath Crowley
  • The piper's son by Melina Marchetta
  • The three loves of Persimmon by Cassandra Golds
Children's fiction
  • April Underhill, tooth fairy by Bob Graham
  • Why I love Australia by Bronwyn Bancroft
  • Shake a leg by Boori Monty Pryor and Jan Ormerod
  • Now by Morris Gleitzman
  • Flyaway by Lucy Christopher
Click here to learn more about the Prime Minister's Awards.

Click here to find shortlisted titles in our library catalogue.