19 August 2011

Children's Book of the Year 2011 Winners Announced

The Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Book of the Year Awards were announced today. Click on the links below to borrow these titles from Libraries ACT.

Older Readers

Winner: The Midnight Zoo by Sonya Hartnett
Honour books: Graffitti Moon by Cath Crowley; The Life of a Teenage Body-Snatcher by Doug Macleod

Younger Readers

Winner: The Red Wind by Isobelle Carmody
Honour books: Just a Dog by Michael Gerard Bauer; Violet Mackerel's Brilliant Plot by Anna Branford

Early Childhood

Winner: Maudie and Bear by Jan Ormerod
Honour books: The Tall Man and the Twelve Babies by Tom Niland Champion & Kilmeny Niland; Look See, Look at Me! by Leonie Norrington

Picture Book

JOINT WINNER: Mirror by Jeannie Baker AND Hamlet by Nicki Greenberg
Honour books: Why I Love Australia by Bronwyn Bancroft; My Uncle's Donkey by Tohby Riddle

Find out what other titles were shortlisted for these awards at the CBCA website  http://cbca.org.au/Shortlist_2011.htm